Shortlist announced for Myriad First Graphic Novel Competition

Published On May 24, 2018 | By Joe Gordon | Awards, Comics

We’ve seen some quite excellent graphic novels coming from British Indy publisher Myriad Editions over the last few years. As well as publishing quite a diverse range of graphic novels (among their wider range of books), Myriad has made a name for itself as a publisher which cares about good books and which fosters and nurtures talent, especially encouraging new talent, which is of course something we hugely admire and appreciate. As part of that they have held the Myriad First Graphic Novel competition, open to any creator who hasn’t had a full-length work published before, and it is a pretty amazing way to encourage new voices in comics.

The winner is given a chance to further develop their initial concept into a full length work with a view to publishing with Myriad, which is a great opportunity for a new creator. The two previous winners, Jade Sarson and Gareth Brookes, both went on to have their works published by Myriad (to great acclaim), and indeed several of the previous shortlist nominees also went on to be published by Myriad, as did other creators who first came to their attention through this process. That’s a pretty impressive result – crafting (and re-writiting and editing and re-editing) a book, prose or graphic, is a long, hard slog, but even when it is finished there is another, often more daunting task of trying to get noticed by publishers, then if you succeed in that, being noticed by readers. So this is an enormous leg-up for new authors, and it’s a nice statement by Myriad about the quality of so many comickers and their work which we haven’t seen yet.

We had 109 entries to the competition, over 60% from women. The standard was particularly high and we had a tough time choosing the longlist, let alone the shortlist. There’s such a wealth of talent out there!”  Corrine Pearlman.

The shortlist for this year’s competition has just been announced today, consisting of Cathy Brett for Who Killed Jo-Jo?, Sabba Khan for Pluralism, Clarrie Pope and Blanche Pope for Welcome Home, Jenny Robins for Biscuits (assorted), Zara Slattery for Coma Comic, Anna Trench for Ezra Stoneleigh and Sarah Ushurhe for Persevere. It’s especially encouraging to see so many female creators represented (more mainstream comics, please take note). The judges are cartoonists Kate Evans and Martin Rowson, writer Wei Ming, Kam and journalist Sarah Shaffi – co-founders of BAME in Publishing – and Myriad Creative Director, Corinne Pearlman. The winner will be announced  in an event hosted by Panel Borders’ Alex Fitch at Hodge Jones and Allen, 180 North Gower Street, London NW1 2NB on 5th July, 6.30-8.30pm. Best of luck to all, and we look forward to reading your work in the months to come.


Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Joe Gordon

Joe Gordon is’s chief blogger, which he set up in 2005. Previously, he was professional bookseller for over 12 years as well as a lifelong reader and reviewer, especially of comics and science fiction works.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *