British Comic Awards – Shortlist Announced!

Published On October 17, 2014 | By Richard Bruton | Awards, Comics, News

Here we go then, the British Comic Awards have announced their full shortlist for the 2014 awards. Full details of eligibility etc are at the BCA site, but effectively it boils down to this…

There are 5 awards: Best Book, Best Comic, Best Emerging Talent, Best Young People’s Comic, Hall Of Fame.
The Committee picks the shortlist and the hall of fame recipient (from their own knowledge and from suggestions mailed in by the general public).
The Judging panel then picks a winner in the Best Book, Best Comic, Best Emerging Talent categories. The Young People’s Comic Award is chosen by a group of schools and library groups made up of young people (makes sense really – voted for by the people they’re aimed at!)

The winner of the Young People’s Comic Awards will be presented in a special ceremony at the Leeds Library in coordination with the British Comic Awards and Thought Bubble Comic Arts Festival on 14th November. Many of the young people who voted in the award will be present. The winners of the other four awards will be announced at the British Comic Awards ceremony at Thought Bubble on the 15th November (along with a repeat announcement of the YPCA).

So.. this shortlist…



The Absence – Martin Stiff (Titan Books)
Celeste – I.N.J. Culbard (Self Made Hero)
The Encyclopedia of Early Earth – Isabel Greenberg (Jonathan Cape)
Lighter Than My Shadow – Katie Green (Jonathan Cape)
Sally Heathcote: Suffragette – Mary Talbot, Kate Charlesworth and Bryan Talbot (Jonathan Cape)




Dangeritis: A Fistful of Danger – Robert M Ball and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell (Great Beast)
In The Frame – Tom Humberstone (
Raygun Roads – Owen Michael Johnson, Indio!, Mike Stock and Andy Bloor (Self published)
Tall Tales & Outrageous Adventures #1: The Snow Queen & Other Stories – Isabel Greenberg (Great Beast)
The Wicked + The Divine #1 – Kieron Gillen, Jaime McKelvie, Matt Wilson and Clayton Cowles (Image Comics)




Alison Sampson (Genesis, Shadows (In The Dark) – artist)
Briony May Smith (Tam Lin, The Courting of Fair Spring and Red-Nosed Frost, The Mermaid)
Rachael Smith (House Party, One Good Thing, Flimsy, Vicky Park (Leicester Mercury), The Amazing Seymore (Moose Kid Comics))
Becca Tobin (Eye Contact, Peppermint Butler’s Peppermint Bark (Adventure Time #30), numerous short comics)
Corban Wilkin (Dreams of a Low Carbon Future – artist, Breaker’s End, If Not Now Then When (Offlife #6))



Bad Machinery Vol 2: The Case of The Good Boy – John Allison (Oni Press)
BOO! – Paul Harrison-Davies, Andrew Waugh; Warwick Johnson-Cadwell, Jonathan Edwards, James Howard, Gary Northfield and Jamie Smart (Self published)
Corpse Talk: Season 1 – Adam Murphy (David Fickling Books)
Hilda and the Black Hound – Luke Pearson (Flying Eye Books)
The Beginner’s Guide to Being Outside – Gill Hatcher (Avery Hill Publishing)




The third entrant to the BCA Hall of Fame will be the one and only Posy Simmonds

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Richard Bruton

– Started in comics retail aged 16 at Nostalgia & Comics, Birmingham. Now located in Yorkshire, he’s written for the Forbidden Planet International Blog since 2007. Specialising in UK Comics and All-Ages comics, Richard’s day job in a primary school allowed him to build the best children’s graphic novel library in the country.

2 Responses to British Comic Awards – Shortlist Announced!

  1. Norman says:

    And can we award you guys the award for keeping us informed of these brilliant materials? I have read three of the five BEST BOOKs directly because of your reviews. The other two are on my list to get.
    Many thanks

  2. Joe Gordon Joe Gordon says:

    Hi, Norman, thanks for that! Awards are nice but knowing we’ve introduced happy readers to new books and talent is even better. Cheesy sentiment, perhaps, but true…