Comics: the Stan Lee Excelsior Award shortlist announced

Published On December 13, 2012 | By Joe Gordon | Awards, Comics

Paul Register drops us a line to let us know that the shortlist for the third year of the Stan Lee Excelsior Award is now online, the award that is now decided by an even larger number of young readers in a larger groups of schools who have added their participation to the process (one of the things I really like about this award, not just that it celebrates comics, but it gets younger readers into comics, reading them and discussing them and thinking about what they read). The nominees on this year’s shortlist are:

Peter Panzerfaust: the Great Escape by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Tyler Jenkins (Image)

Wonder Woman Volume 1: Blood by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins (DC)

Strontium Dog: the Life and Death of Johnny Alpha by John Wagner and Carlos Ezquerra (2000 AD/Rebellion)

Soul Eater Not! Volume 1 by Atsushi Ohkubo (Yen Press)

X-O Manowar: By the Sword by Robert Venditti and Cary Nord (Valiant)

Sweeney Todd: the Demon Barber of Fleet Street by Sean Michael Wilson and Declan Shalvey (Classical Comics)

Supergirl: Last Daughter of Krypton by Michael Green, Mike Johnson and Mahmud Asrar (DC)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Change is Constant by Kevin Eastman, Tom Waltz and Dan Duncan (IDW)

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Joe Gordon
Joe Gordon is's chief blogger, which he set up in 2005. Previously, he was professional bookseller for over 12 years as well as a lifelong reader and reviewer, especially of comics and science fiction works.

Comments are closed.